Today was a bad day. We had to tell a friend that his data/history was deleted when he uninstalled the system (which was installed on his local C: drive, rather than on a network server).
To make things worse, he also didn’t have a backup of his system, so now he has to start over. That’s no fun.
So here are a few important things to keep in mind…
- Per the note under “Uninstalling/Removing the System” in the Getting Started Documentation that comes with the software, if the software is installed on your C: drive, uninstalling the system will remove the software AND delete all your data/history.
- Please consider moving the database to a network server (even if you only need a single-user system). That way, your data will be backed up with everything else on the server. For details, please see “Network Installation Instructions” in the Getting Started Documentation.
- Please, please, please back up your system on a regular basis. Details are under “Backup and Restore Procedures” in the Getting Started Documentation.
If this is too much work for you, please consider upgrading to the On-Demand (hosted/SaaS) version of SpendMap. It’s not free like the Windows/desktop version, but with SpendMap On-Demand we do the backups, upgrades and other system maintenance for you as part of the monthly service.
Tomorrow is another day…